BigDaddy News

Cricket News

West Indies: West Indies name seven uncapped players in squad for Australia Tests | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: West Indies Cricket Board has revealed a 15-man squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Australia, highlighting the infusion of new talent with at least four debutants.
The squad includes seven uncapped players, a response to the absence of key figures like Jason Holder and Kyle Mayers, who opted for franchise T20 cricket.
Desmond Haynes, the lead selector, acknowledged the challenges posed by player unavailability but expressed optimism in the talent identified through a robust red-ball program over the past year.
Haynes stated, “The squad has been affected by the unavailability of some key players,” while emphasizing the strong red-ball program that has unearthed significant talent.
The uncapped players in the squad include batsman Zachary McCaskie, wicketkeeper Tevin Imlach, all-rounders Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge, and Kevin Sinclair, along with fast bowlers Akeem Jordan and Shamar Joseph.
The Test series is scheduled to commence at Adelaide Oval on January 17, followed by the second Test at the Gabba in Brisbane from January 25. West Indies, currently ranked eighth globally, aim to break a 20-year losing streak against Australia, with their last Test win over Australia dating back to 2003.
West Indies squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (capt), Alzarri Joseph, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Kirk McKenzie, Alick Athanaze, Kavem Hodge, Justin Greaves, Joshua DaSilva, Akeem Jordan, Gudakesh Motie, Kemar Roach, Kevin Sinclair, Tevin Imlach, Shamar Joseph, Zachary McCaskie
(With inputs from Reuters)

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID