BigDaddy News

Cricket News

RR vs RCB: Watch – Kumar Sangakkara and Twitter furious as Dinesh Karthik survives after third umpire’s controversial decision

The ongoing Eliminator of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 was marred by a massive controversy over Dinesh Karthik’s lbw call. The match between the Rajasthan Royals (RR) and the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) is being played in Ahmedabad.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) keeper-batter Dinesh Karthik walked out to bat in the 15th over and he didn’t have the kind of first ball he would’ve wanted. The right-hander was struck on the pads and was given out by the on-field umpire.

However, Dinesh Karthik after discussing with his partner went up for the DRS. The keeper-batter played across the line to the ball that was full and straight, bending in late and hitting the pads. However, the UltraEdge showed that there was a big spike but from the first look, it was hard to figure out if that was off-bat hitting pad or the inside edge. 

However, after a few replays, it was visible that Dinesh Karthik’s bat hit the pad before the ball came and after that, there was a big spike. The third umpire, however, didn’t notice it and made a blunder, considering the spike as a ball hitting the bat. 

However, there was a massive gap between bat and ball and after that third umpire termed it not out, the entire Rajasthan Royals team went berserk. Even head coach Kumar Sangakkara moved from his dugout to have a chat with the fourth umpire. 

Here’s the video of the dismissal: 

The third umpire’s decision didn’t go well with many as it even made commentators on-air think about the thought process behind the dismissal. Sunil Gavaskar was sure that the bat hit the pad and said: “The bat has hit the pad, the bat has not hit the ball”.

Kevin Pietersen also claimed that the third umpire didn’t get his decision right and stated: “I don’t think the umpire has got the decision right”.

Irfan Pathan, who was also doing commentary agreed on the fact that the third umpire didn’t make the correct decision. He said: “The ball does not touch the bat, this was not the right decision by the third Umpire”.

Fans on Twitter react as third umpire makes wrong decision on Dinesh Karthik’s lbw 

As the third umpire made a poor call on Dinesh Karthik’s lbw in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 game, fans on X were left angry. They lashed out at the third umpire for the poor call and also speculated about match-fixing. Here are some of the reactions: 

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service

PROS

+
Add Field

CONS

+
Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

10%
Bonus On New ID

NO DOCUMENTATION,NO KYC REQUIRED