BigDaddy News

Cricket News

RCB vs CSK: “Looked like on purpose…”

Former Indian bowler Varun Aaron has given his honest verdict on the controversial dismissal of Ravindra Jadeja for obstructing the field during the crucial IPL 2024 match between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on May 12.

Jadeja was declared out by the third umpire for obstructing the field during the CSK’s 5-wicket win over RR in Match No. 61 of the ongoing IPL 2024 in Chennai. The incident took place during the 16th over of CSK’s innings when Jadeja was hit by a throw from RR’s captain Sanju Samson at the non-striker’s end.

The third umpire found out that the CSK all-rounder had intentionally changed his running direction to save the stumps after seeing the direction of the ball; thus, he was given out, which sparked debate among the cricket experts. Even Jadeja himself argued with the umpires for the call.

It was right call, Ravindra Jadeja was repeating the same mistake: Varun Aaron

Reacting to the controversial incident, Aaron backed the umpire’s decision and said that Jadeja had taken a huge turn. The former pacer also mentioned that the CSK all-rounder committed the same mistake against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), but they spared him because of his poor form.

Varun Aaron said on ESPNCricinfo’s ‘TimeOut’ show: “That was out. He was far left, he took a huge U-turn, almost went to that side of the wicket, to around the wicket, and then was running. So, I mean, that’s pretty much out. I’ve seen him do that before, where he runs like that, but is it…”

Aaron added, “You’d like to see a batter who’s come halfway down. He would argue that, I’m not going to run exactly in a straight line back, I will take some kind of turn. But what you saw there was clearly… Yeah, maybe he didn’t do it on purpose, but to the umpire and all of the people who are looking, it looked like on purpose, and that’s what they’re going to go for.”

It was definitely out: Mitchell McClenaghan

Meanwhile, former New Zealand pacer and cricket expert, Mitchell McClenaghan, also agreed with Aaron and said that the umpires made an excellent decision by adjudging Jadeja out against the RR.

McClenaghan said during the same discussion: “I agree. Totally agree. It was definitely out. And he was arguing his case with the umps because maybe he just realized he made a mistake.”

McClenaghan also mentioned that the footage showed Jadeja was looking at Sanju Samson, changing his line, and then putting his elbows up when he knew he was going to get hit by the ball. So, the third umpire took the correct decision against Jadeja.

Watch Here:

Earlier, CSK’s batting coach, Michael Hussey, stressed that Jadeja did attempt to turn around, and he didn’t try to change direction while running back. But Hussey refused to question the umpire’s call.

After crushing RR by 5 wickets, CSK bolstered their chances for the IPL 2024 playoffs, remaining in the third spot with 14 points in the standings from 13 games. They will now face RCB in a do-or-die clash on May 18 in Bengaluru.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID