BigDaddy News

Cricket News

MI vs LSG: Revealed – Why Jasprit Bumrah and Tilak Varma are not playing today’s IPL 2024 match and who have replaced them?

Mumbai Indians will be looking to bow out of the ongoing IPL 2024 with a win. The five-time IPL champions will be locking horns against Lucknow Super Giants in their final league game, scheduled to be played at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday (May 17).

Earlier this month, the Hardik Pandya-led side became the first team to be knocked out of the competition. At present, they are languishing at the bottom of the points table with just four wins and nine defeats. Mumbai Indians only have pride to play for in their final game of the season and they will be keen to sign off on a victorious note.

However, the hosts will be without their star bowler Jasprit Bumrah, and middle-order batsman Tilak Varma for the game. Bumrah has been rested for the game against Lucknow Super Giants while Tilak has suffered an injury. Not many were expecting Bumrah to be rested for the game as he was involved in the race for the Purple Cap.

However, the Mumbai Indians team management have decided to rest him. Left-arm pacer Arjun Tendulkar, son of the legendary Sachin Tendulkar, has replaced Bumrah in the playing eleven. On the other hand, Dewald Brevis has got a chance in the middle order.

Mumbai Indians bowling first:

Talking about the game, Mumbai Indians captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and opted to bowl first. Speaking at toss, the allrounder said:

“We’re going to bowl. Chasing is better in Wankhede. It comes on nicer in the evening. It’s always about playing for the badge, playing for pride – all those words are important in the group. We know where we stand.

“But ending the season playing good cricket will always be appreciated. It gives us more freedom maybe to go out there and express ourselves,” he added.

Playing XIs:

Mumbai Indians:

Ishan Kishan(w), Naman Dhir, Suryakumar Yadav, Dewald Brevis, Hardik Pandya(c), Nehal Wadhera, Romario Shepherd, Anshul Kamboj, Piyush Chawla, Arjun Tendulkar, Nuwan Thushara

Lucknow Super Giants:

KL Rahul(w/c), Devdutt Padikkal, Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Ayush Badoni, Krunal Pandya, Arshad Khan, Matt Henry, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID