BigDaddy News

Cricket News

Jay Shah names strong contenders to win the tournament; Leaves out Pakistan, England, and South Africa

Jay Shah, the secretary of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), has named strong contenders to secure the title in the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. Jay Shah excluded teams like Pakistan, South Africa, and England from his list for the ICC event.

The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup is scheduled to be played across various venues in the Caribbean Islands and the United States of America (USA). A total of 20 teams will compete for the trophy in the tournament, which will be played from June 1 to June 29.

The 20 teams are divided into four groups of five teams each in this year’s T20 World Cup. The top two from each group advance to the Super 8 round and will be divided into two groups of four. The top two teams from each group move to the knockout stage.

They Are Good In T20 – Jay Shah

BCCI secretary Jay Shah picked India, Australia, New Zealand, and the West Indies as strong contenders for the T20 World Cup 2024. Shah highlighted the West Indies’ prowess in T20 cricket, emphasizing their potential to perform well in the tournament.

“India, Australia, New Zealand, and the hosts, West Indies, because they are good in T20,” Shah was quoted as saying by the Times of India.

Team India To Kick Off Their World Cup Campaign On June 5

Team India will depart for the T20 World Cup in two stages. The initial batch, comprising players and coaching staff, will depart on May 24. The second batch, which includes players from IPL teams advancing to the playoffs, will leave after the IPL final on May 26.

India will begin their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign against Ireland in New York on June 5. They will face Pakistan in a highly anticipated match at the same venue on June 9. The Men in Blue will face co-hosts USA and Canada on June 12 and 15, respectively.

Legendary MS Dhoni led the Indian cricket team to victory against archrival Pakistan in the 2007 inaugural T20 World Cup final. India has reached the final only once in subsequent editions of the tournament. This remains India’s only triumph in this format.

Rohit Sharma had led the Indian team to the semifinals in the last edition of the T20 World Cup in Australia. However, the Men in Blue suffered a loss against England in the semifinals. The team will be hoping to end their ICC trophy drought in the upcoming tournament.

Date Matchup Venue Time
June 5 India vs Ireland Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York 8:30 PM IST
June 9 India vs Pakistan Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York 8:30 PM IST
June 12 India vs USA Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York 8:30 PM IST
June 15 India vs Canada

Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Florida

8:30 PM IST 

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

Also read: MI vs LSG: Hardik Pandya served T20 World Cup warning by former CSK legend

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID