BigDaddy News

Horse Racing News

Godolphin 2023 TIEA Finalists, Runner-ups Revealed

The finalists and runners-up for the 2023 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards have been announced, including three finalists in six of the seven categories.

The winner and runner-up of the seventh category, the Dr. J. David “Doc” Richardson Community Award, have already been decided with Linda Doane of the The Healing Place in Louisville, Ky. awarded the top prize, and Francisco Torres, with the Backstretch Employee Service Team, placing second.

This year’s awards ceremony will once again be hosted by Keeneland and will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 17, in Lexington, Ky.. Finalists and their guest will be provided with travel and accommodations for out-of-town finalists, a tour of a local horse farm, and the ceremony dinner with an afternoon of racing the following day at Keeneland.

The shortlist judging panel, the first of two judging panels, met on Tuesday, Aug. 1, to determine the finalists and runners-up in each category as well as the Community Award winner and finalist. Their meeting was hosted by the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. The second and final stage of judging will take place on Tuesday, Aug. 17 when finalists will meet with the judges for in-person interviews.

Panel Chair Tom Law commented, “It’s hard to put into words what it means to be involved with these awards. Everyone in our industry knows someone that works tirelessly, day-in and day-out, to take care of our magnificent two-legged and four-legged friends because they love what they do. The nominees, year-on-year, are a tremendous group, and while we wish we could reward them all, I do hope they feel honored that someone thought enough about them to submit a nomination.”

Sign up for

“I’d also like to thank the National HBPA, TOBA, The Jockey Club, Breeders’ Cup, and Godolphin, without whose underwriting and support these awards would not be possible to implement. Lastly, a heartfelt thanks to our media partners—The Thoroughbred Daily News, BloodHorse Publications, Daily Racing Form, FanDuel, Paulick Report, and America’s Day at the Races – for helping to spread the reach of the awards.”

TIEA was pleased to welcome back category sponsors Hallway Feeds, NTRA, Hagyard Equine Medical Institute, Keeneland, NYRA, and Churchill Downs, and welcomes first-time sponsor 1/ST Racing.

The winners of the Katherine McKee Administration, Dedication to Breeding, Dedication to Racing, Leadership and Support Services Awards will receive a prize of $7,500, with an additional $1,000 to their farm, stable or organization, with two finalists receiving $2,500 each and $1,000 to their farm, stable or organization as well. For the first time in 2023, separate from the winners and two finalists, two runners-up will receive $2,000 each.

The winner of the Newcomer Award will receive $5,000 with $1,000 going to their farm, stable, or organization. Two finalists will receive $2,500 each, and separate from the winners and two finalists, two runners-up receive $1,000 each.

As the winner of the Dr. J. David “Doc” Richardson Community Award, Linda Doane will receive a prize of $7,500 and an additional prize of $2,500 will be donated to the charity of her choice. Francisco Torres will receive $2,500 as the other finalist in this category, and separate from the winners and finalist, two runners-up receive $1,500 each.

The 2023 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards finalists can be viewed here.

This press release has been edited for content and style by BloodHorse Staff.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID