BigDaddy News

Cricket News

‘Completely unfair to RR’: IPL umpiring under fire as Dinesh Karthik survives LBW call | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Another contentious umpiring call in the IPL 2024 triggered controversy during the Rajasthan Royals versus Royal Challengers Bengaluru Eliminator on Wednesday. This season has seen its fair share of questionable decisions, adding to the growing debate around officiating standards in the tournament.
The incident unfolded in the 15th over when RCB batter Dinesh Karthik was trapped plumb in front by Avesh Khan.However, Karthik went for a review without wasting time.
Karthik attempted a shot across the line before the ball struck him on the pad. A significant spike on UltraEdge indicated potential contact, yet discerning whether it was a bat hitting pad or the inside edge proved challenging.

Given the proximity of the ball to the inside edge and the possibility of deviation, the third umpire concluded that the bat was indeed involved.
However, RR mentor Kumar Sangakkara appeared unconvinced. He swiftly rose from the dugout and proceeded to approach the fourth umpire for further clarification.
Commentator Ravi Shastri also voiced his dissatisfaction over the umpire’s call saying it was completely unfair to RR.

“Dinesh Karthik was clearly out. Completely unfair to RR here. Umpire should have checked the review 4-5 times before giving the decision,” Shastri said on air.
Former England players Kevin Pietersen and Michael Vaughan lashed out at the decision emphasising these mistakes shouldn’t happen at this level.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID