BigDaddy News

Horse Racing News

Teams Set for Ascot’s Shergar Cup Jockey Competition

The teams are set for the Aug. 12 Shergar Cup. The six-race contest, the world’s premier jockeys’ competition, takes place at Ascot Racecourse.

Such global riding stars as Frankie Dettori and Joao Moreira will participate in what will be the final Shergar Cup for both the jockeys as they have announced their pending retirements from the saddle.

The four teams—Great Britain and Ireland, Rest of the World, Ladies and Europe—are made up of three jockeys who will each take part in five of the six races, which are limited to ten runners.

Joao Moreira is an all-time great of Hong Kong racing
Photo: Hong Kong Jockey Club

Jockey Joao Moreira

Subject to full fields, jockeys have five rides on the card, although a spare rider can be used in the event of injury. Each race features two reserves who have until 45 minutes before the off time to be substituted in.

Sign up for

Points are awarded on a 15-10-7-5-3 basis to the first five horses home, although in the event of a non-runner not being able to be replaced, four points will be gained by the team and rider missing out.

Mounts are determined by a ballot, although a mathematical model is used to ensure the jockeys and teams have an even spread of fancied runners throughout the bill, which is worth £480,000.

The team with the most points after the six races will win the Dubai Duty Free-sponsored prize, while the jockey with the most points pockets £3,000 and a trophy that remembers the late Alistair Haggis, a well-liked public relations figure in the sport who helped make the Shergar Cup the success it is today.

If there is a tie for either competition, there will be a countback on the number of winners and the team or jockey with the most winners will be judged successful overall.

If they are still level, then second places will be counted, and, if necessary, third and fourth places. There will be joint winners if those steps cannot determine the outright victors.

First staged in 2000, albeit in a different guise with just two teams, the Shergar Cup also has a bonus pot of £25,000 for the leading trainers and their stable staff.

The teams for the 2023 Shergar Cup:

Great Britain & Ireland

Luke Morris (captain)

Tom Marquand

Declan McDonogh


Frankie Dettori (captain)

Bauyrzhan Murzabayev

Olivier Peslier


Hayley Turner (captain)

Hollie Doyle

Saffie Osborne

Rest of the World

Joao Moreira (captain)

Matthew Chadwick

Kazuo Yokoyama

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID