BigDaddy News

Cricket News

Rohit Sharma was on the verge of sacrificing his bonus from BCCI’s 125 Crore pool for..

India captain Rohit Sharma is known to be a big-hearted man. Once again, Rohit showed how much he cares not only for himself but also for the people around him. After Rahul Dravid showed a heartwarming gesture, Rohit also got ready to give up his INR 5 Crore bonus that was awarded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) after India’s T20 World Cup 2024 win.

India won the trophy by defeating South Africa in the final on June 29 at Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados. This was India’s first ICC trophy win in 11 years. Hence, the BCCI decided to felicitate the team by giving them massive prize money.

The prize money was awarded at a felicitation ceremony organized by the board at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. People gathered in thousands on the road and in the stadium to see their heroes bring the trophy home.

Also read: Chandrakant Pandit issues an official statement on talks around Abhishek Nayar’s future with KKR and team India

Rohit Sharma shows heartwarming gesture for support staff

According to a report in Dainik Bhaskar, Rohit Sharma was displeased with the amount of prize money given to one of the support staff. Rohit even said that amount can be deducted from his prize money to increase the prize money given to the support staff. 

The incident was narrated by one of the support staff members of the Indian team but it is not clear which support staff members Rohit was referring to. 

The report also stated that one of the members lauded Rohit Sharma and said that he knows how to appreciate members of the support staff. The member was traveling with the team from Barbados to Delhi with the champion team.

How much did BCCI award to the Indian team?

The prize money of INR 125 Crore awarded by the BCCI is six times more than the ICC’s amount awarded to the champion team. It is even more than the tournament’s total prize of INR 93.52 Crore.

BCCI had earlier confirmed that each of the 15 players in the India squad will receive INR 5 Crore each while the coaching staff of batting coach Vikram Rathour, bowling coach Paras Mhambrey, and fielding coach T Dilip will be awarded INR 2.5 Crore each.

The support staff will receive INR 2 Crore while chief selector Ajit Agarkar and the reserve players in the squad will receive INR 1 Crore each.

Earlier, head coach Rahul Dravid was also supposed to receive INR 5 Crore but he refused and asked for the same prize money as the other coaching staff. Alongside Dravid, other members of the coaching staff also played a key role in India’s title win.

A young Indian side, led by Shubman Gill, is currently playing in a five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. With Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Ravindra Jadeja having announced their retirement from T20Is, it is time for the next generation of players to take over.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID