BigDaddy News

Cricket News

IND vs AUS 2023: Ravichandran Ashwin Recalled; Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli Rested for First Two ODIs

Ravichandran Ashwin has been recalled in India’s ODI squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Australia while seniors like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya along with Kuldeep Yadav have been rested for the first two games. In Rohit’s absence, KL Rahul will be leading in the first two matches.

The rested seniors though will be back for the final match for which the selectors have named an extended 17-man squad with Ashwin and Washington Sundar retaining their spots. Axar Patel, who picked up an injury during the Asia Cup, will miss the first two matches but has been included for the 3rd ODI subject to fitness.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma have been included for the first two matches as well.

“He’s been consistently playing Test cricket. With guys like Ashwin having time on the field is not a concern. With the kind of experience he has, for guys like him it’s all in the head more than the body. Speaking to him, understanding him where he’s with this body. It’s not like he’s not played cricket, he’s not played the format (ODIs), has played TNPL. Games against Australia will give us a chance to see where’s he at,” India captain Rohit Sharma said on Ashwin’s recall during a media interaction on Monday night.

“Rohit is taking a break. Others are getting a breather. Rohit and Virat have been around forever. Hardik has been there. Kuldeep too. They got fair amount of cricket in Asia Cup. Guys need mental break and come the third game our main players will play,” BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar said.

India vs Australia ODI Squad Announcement: Live Updates

IND vs AUS ODI Series 2023 – Squads

Squad for the first two ODIs: KL Rahul (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, Ravichandran Ashwin and Washington Sundar

Squad for the 3rd ODI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel  (subject to fitness), Ravichandran Ashwin, Washington Sundar

Australia squad for the series: Pat Cummins (captain), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

The Indian cricket team has headed home after a comprehensive win over Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup final and is expected to reassemble for the series against Australia in Mohali on September 20.

India vs Australia 2023: Full Schedule

India vs Australia, 1st ODI: 22 September 2023 (Friday), 1:30 PM in Mohali

India vs Australia, 2nd ODI: 24 September 2023 (Sunday), 1:30 PM in Indore

India vs Australia, 3rd ODI: 27 September 2023 (Wednesday), 1:30 PM in Rajkot

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID