BigDaddy News

Football News

FIFA Best Player award: Messi, Haaland and Mbappe feature in star-studded list | Football News

Fresh from being crowned the winner of the UEFA Player of the Year award, Manchester City superstar Erling Haaland is set to compete with Lionel Messi for another major accolade as The Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) has unveiled its shortlist for The Best Men’s Player 2023 on Thursday. The international governing body of association football has revealed as many as 12 contenders for the coveted award in the men’s category.

FIFA revealed its shortlist for the coveted award on Thursday(AFP-AP)
FIFA revealed its shortlist for the coveted award on Thursday(AFP-AP)

Spain’s Aitana Bonmati, who won the Women’s World Cup Player of the Tournament title, is nominated for the FIFA Best Player award along with her Spain teammate Jenni Hermoso. Bonmati, Mapi Leon and Hermoso are the three Spanish footballers included in the 16-player list for the women’s best player award. Jorge Vilda, who guided Spain to its maiden Women’s World Cup title, has been overlooked by the jury for the best women’s coach honour. The former Spain head coach was removed from his post by the Spanish Football Federation (RFEF) in the aftermath of the Luis Rubiales scandal.

ALSO READ: Lionel Messi to Sergio Ramos: 5 superstars who rejected offers from Cristiano Ronaldo’s Saudi Pro League

Women’s best player nominees: Aitana Bonmati (ESP), Linda Caicedo (COL), Rachel Daly (ENG), Kadidiatou Diani (FRA), Caitlin Foord (AUS), Mary Fowler (AUS), Alex Greenwood (ENG), Jenni Hermoso (ESP), Lindsey Horan (USA), Amanda Ilestedt (SWE), Lauren James (ENG), Sam Kerr (AUS), Mapi Leon (ESP), Hinata Miyazawa (JPN), Salma Paralluelo (ESP), Keira Walsh (ENG)

Men’s best player nominees: Julian Alvarez (ARG), Marcelo Brozovic (CRO), Kevin De Bruyne (BEL), Ilkay Gundogan (GER), Erling Haaland (NOR), Rodri (ESP), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (GEO), Kylian Mbappe (FRA), Lionel Messi (ARG), Victor Osimhen (NGR), Declan Rice (ENG), Bernardo Silva (POR)

Women’s best coach nominees: Peter Gerhardsson (SWE), Jonatan Giraldez (ESP), Tony Gustavsson (SWE), Emma Hayes (ENG), Sarina Wiegman (NED)

Men’s best coach nominees: Pep Guardiola (ESP), Simone Inzaghi (ITA), Ange Postecoglou (AUS), Luciano Spalletti (ITA), Xavi (ESP)

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID