BigDaddy News

Cricket News

Deodhar Trophy 2023: No Place For Yash Dhull, Nitish Rana to Lead North Zone; Ajay Ratra Named Coach

Nitish Rana to lead North Zone in Deodhar Trophy (Twitter Image)

Nitish Rana to lead North Zone in Deodhar Trophy (Twitter Image)

Nitish Rana will be leading North Zone in Deodhar Trophy 2023, however Yash Dhull couldn’t find a place in the side

Ahead of the upcoming Deodhar Trophy 2023 campaign, The North Zone Selection Committee have named the 15-man roster for the North Zone team which will be participating in the tournament.

Apart from the 15-man strong squad, 8 standby players have also been named by the North Zone selection committee with four players from the main squad set to take part in the 2023 ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup.

While Nitish Rana will be leading the North Zone team, there is no place for Yash Dhull in the squad, while the support staff of the team was also named. Rana had earlier led Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2023 season.

Ajay Ratra was named the head coach of the North Zone side, for the Deodhar Trophy to be held in Puducherry from July 24.

The Deodhar Trophy will be the second tournament of the domestic cricket season after Duleep Trophy, with South Zone and West Zone set to meet in the final of Duleep Trophy in Bengaluru from 12 July.

ALSO READ| IND vs WI 2023: Team India Take Part in Never-Seen-Before Unique Fielding Drill Ahead of First Test | WATCH

Among other marquee names, Abhishek Sharma, wicketkeeper batter Prabhsimran Singh and Harshit Rana have also been picked in the squad, but the trio are also set to participate in the Emerging Teams Asia Cup, scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka between July 13 and 23.

Nishant Sandhu is the fourth player from the North Zone squad who will take part in the Emerging Asia Cup, and all the aforementioned players are expected to join the North Zone team at a later date if India manage to reach the final.

If the Indian Colts reach the final, then the stand-by players will play the first game, informed North Zone selection committee convenor Anirudh Chaudhary.

ALSO READ| ‘If They are Thinking Beyond Rohit Sharma, I Think Virat Kohli..’: Ex-Chief Selector’s Bombastic Take on Test Captaincy

North Zone squad: Nitish Rana (Captain), Abhishek Sharma, Prabhsimran Singh, SG Rohilla, S Khajuria, Mandeep Singh, Himanshu Rana, Vivrant Sharma, Nishant Sindhu, Rishi Dhawan, Yudhvir Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Harshit Rana, Vaibhav Arora, Mayank Markande.

Stand-by players: Mayank Dagar, Mayank Yadav, Arslan Khan, Shubham Arora, Yuvraj Singh, Manan Vohra, Aqib Nabi, Shivank Vashisht.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video

Want To Earn From Skills ?

Bonus On New ID